Water Resources Commission Governing Board Inaugurated

The Minister for Sanitation and Water Resources, Hon. Cecilia Abena Dapaah has charged the Governing Board of the Water Resources Commission (WRC) to effectively guide the development of Legislative Instruments on Buffer Zones and Pollution Control as well as the implementation of existing regulations and policies such as the Buffer Zone policy to assist in restoring, and maintaining the ecological integrity of our water bodies and to provide socioeconomic benefits to local communities.

Hon. Cecilia Abena Dapaah made the call when she inaugurated the reconstituted 15-member governing board of the Commission into office. According to her, government seeks to ensure that all citizens have the water they need to live healthy, productive and happy lives. Therefore, the attention is to undertake a 'Water for All Programme' through sustainable policies and actions that take account of ecological systems to reduce pollution; promote water use efficiency; strengthen decentralised management organisations; improve information and knowledge base; and intensify education, awareness, and monitoring.

"Your duties also call for promoting international cooperation to improve relationship with our riparian neighbours. In this regard, your invaluable advice would be of essence for ensuring the sustained management and equitable sharing of the benefits of our transboundary surface and ground water resources." She stated.

The Minister entreated the board to guide approaches towards building consensus through effective participation among all users and managers of our water resources. The participation should prompt significant changes in attitudes by raising awareness of people through interactions among the stakeholders, particularly NGOs and traditional authorities whose activities should be positively recognised and encouraged.

The Chairman of the WRC Board, Mr. Minta Afosa Aboagye, in his acceptance speech, expressed his gratitude for the opportunity to serve on the board in fulfillment of the mandate of WRC. He also pledged that the board will work hard to prevent the practices inhibiting the progress of the work of the commission and provide solutions to the increasing demands and pollution of the

water bodies in the country.

Other members of the board include Mr. Ben Yaw Ampomah, Mr. Jacob Ziema Yendor, Mr.

Worlanyo Kwadjo Siabi, Mr. Sylvester Darko, Ing. Abdul Noor Wahab, Ing. Richard Oppong-

Boateng and Prof. Mike Yaw Osei-Atweneboana.

The rest are Dr. Michael Mawutor Tanu, Ing. Ransford Sekyi, Mr. John McDonald Allotey, Mr.

Collins Anim-Sackey, Togbe Gbogbolulu V, Madam Afua Gyamfua Owusu-Akyaw, and Hon.

Adelaide Ntim.

Source: Public Relations, WRC